IFMCA 2021 Nominations

February 3, 2022

The International Film Music Critics Association (IFMCA) have announced their award nominations for 2021 film scores

The International Film Music Critics Association (IFMCA) announces its list of nominees for excellence in musical scoring in 2021, for the 18th annual IFMCA Awards. Composers James Newton Howard and Hans Zimmer lead a very open field with the most number of nominations, both receiving a total of four. Composers Panu Aaltio, Nicholas Britell, Jonny Greenwood, Maurizio Malagnini, and Bear McCreary all received three nominations.

SF/Fantasy/horror genre film score nominations include, in various categories, James Newton Howard for both JUNGLE CRUISE and the animated fantasy RAYA AND THE LAST DRAGON, Hans Zimmer’s DUNE, Daniel Hart’s THE GREEN KNIGHT, Michael Giacchino (SPIDERMAN: NO WAY HOME), Bear McCreary (FOUNDATION and MASTERS OF THE UNIVERSE: REVELATION), Christopher Lennertz (LOST IN SPACE), Rob Simonsen (GHOSTBUSTERS: AFTERLIFE), as well as newcomers Natalie Holt (LOKI), Philip Klein (WISH DRAGON), Germaine Franco (ENCANTO), Maurizio Malagnini (COPPELIA), and Stephanie Economou (JUPITER’S LEGACY) – and, of course, much more outside of these genres.

For full details of all nominations, see IFMCA

%d bloggers like this: