Some Stay For The Night.. Some Never Leave

August 19, 2022

Anna Drubich Scores Urban Horror Thriller BARBARIAN

In BARBARIAN, a young woman traveling to Detroit for a job interview books a rental home. But when she arrives late at night, she discovers that the house is double booked, and a strange man is already staying there. Against her better judgement, she decides to spend the evening, but soon discovers that there’s a lot more to fear than just an unexpected house guest. The film is written and directed by Zach Cregger and stars Bill Skarsgård, Georgina Campbell, and Justin Long.

Anna Drubich (IMDB pic)

The film is scored by composer Anna Drubich. She has frequently collaborated with film composer Marco Beltrami, writing an episode of the Danish television historical war drama series 1864 (2014), composing additional music and playing piano on EXTREMELY WICKED, SHOCKINGLY EVIL AND VILE (2019), and co-writing the scores for SCARY STORIES IN THE DARK (2019) and FEAR STREET (2021). On her own she recently scored HYPNOSIS (2020), the horror comedy thriller WEREWOLVES WITHIN (2021; see my news bit here), and the drama thriller JANE (2022).

BARBARIAN premiered at the 2022 San Diego Comic-Con; it is also set to appear at the Arrow Video FrightFest on August 29. It is scheduled to be released to theaters on September 9 by 20th Century Studios and New Regency.

Watch the film’s trailer:

%d bloggers like this: