T-Virus Returns

July 8, 2022

Netflix RESIDENT EVIL Series Soundtrack Announced – Music by Gregory Reveret

Milan Records has announced a soundtrack album for the Netflix original series Resident Evil. The album features selections of the show’s original score composed by Gregory Reveret. Also included is the original song My Heart Has Teeth by deadmau5 featuring Skylar Grey.

Based on the horror franchise, the series is set in its own continuity separate from either the previous six Paul Anderson film series or the 2021 film. The story makes heavy use of flashbacks, set in both 2022 and 2036. The 2022 plotline involve 14-year-old half-twins Jade and Billie Wesker moving to New Raccoon City. They come to realize that their father may be concealing dark secrets, both that could destroy the world and reveal their true origins. The 2036 plotline takes place in a post-apocalyptic wasteland, where Umbrella Corporation’s T-virus has spread across the world, mutating wildlife and six billion human victims, called “Zeroes,” leaving behind a mere 15 million uninfected refugees. It follows Jade, now thirty, in her efforts to survive in this world.

The series is scheduled to premiere on July 14, 2022. The soundtrack will be released digitally next Friday, July 15.

French-born Greg Reveret started his music career as a touring EDM artist, from his hometown in South Africa. He has contributed music arrangements for Brian Tyler on FURIOUS 7 (2015), AVENGERS: AGE OF ULTRON (2015), and THOSE WHO WITH ME DEAD, composed trailer music for JUSTICE LEAGUE (2017) and THE MANDALORIAN, and contributed additional music on BRIMSTONE (2016) and the TEEN WOLF TV series (2014-2017), to name a few. He began working on the adventure/horror score for Netflix’s RESIDENT EVIL series in 2021; his score features a mixture of action-heavy orchestral music, African percussion and an elaborate use of vintage laboratory equipment from the 1960’s.

Reveret’s main theme (Venus Flytrap) is already available to stream/download now (listen below). The Netflix series is developed by Andrew Dabb based on the horror franchise and stars Ella Balinska, Tamara Smart, Siena Agudong, Adeline Rudolph, Lance Reddick and Paola Núñez. The Constantin Film production The series will premiere on July 14 exclusively on Netflix.

Via filmmusicreporter and other sources.

Listen to Gregory Revert’s main theme, “Venus Flytrap” (and below that, watch the series trailer):

%d bloggers like this: