THOR: Giacchino Thunder

December 9, 2021

Michael Giacchino Set to Score THOR: LOVE AND THUNDER

Michael Giacchino has confirmed that he will reteam with director Taika Waititi on Marvel Studios’ upcoming feature THOR: LOVE AND THUNDER. Mark Mothersbaugh has previously composed the score for Waititi’s THOR: RAGNAROK (2017). The earlier Thor MCU movies THOR (2011), directed by Kenneth Branagh, was composed by Patrick Doyle, and THOR: THE DARK WORLD (2013), directed by Alan Taylor, was scored by Brian Tyler. Each of the films has had different main theme music.

Giacchino had collaborated with Waititi on the WW2 comedy-drama JOJO RABBIT (2019) and has also composed the music for three other Marvel productions: DOCTOR STRANGE (2016), SPIDER-MAN: HOMECOMING, FAR FROM HOME (2019), and the forthcoming SPIDER-MAN: NO WAY HOME (2021). Giacchino also composed the fanfare for the new Marvel Studios logo, which debuted with DOCTOR STRANGE.

THOR: LOVE AND THUNDER stars Chris Hemsworth as Thor and Natalie Portman as Jane Foster/Mighty Thor, who takes on the mantle and powers of Thor while suffering from cancer, with Tessa Thompson (Valkyrie), Christian Bale (Gorr the God Butcher), Jamie Alexander (Sif), Jeff Goldblum (Grandmaster), and, as members of The Guardians of the Galaxy, Chris Pratt (Peter Quill/Star-Lord), Dave Bautista (Drax the Destroyer), Karen Gillan (Nebula), Vin Diesel (Groot), Pom Klementieff (Mantis) in co-starring roles. Additionally, director Waititi reprises his role as Korg, a Kronan gladiator who befriended Thor in the previous movie, and Russell Crowe has a cameo appearance as Zeus.

The film is scheduled for release in theaters nationwide on July 8, 2022 from Walt Disney Pictures.

– via filmmusicreporter and other sources

%d bloggers like this: