How Evil Emerged Into Middle-Earth

October 14, 2022

Bear McCreary’s Final Season 1 LORD OF THE RINGS: THE RINGS OF POWER Episode 8 Soundtrack

With the release of THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE RINGS OF POWER (Season One: Episode 8 Amazon Original Series Soundtrack), all nine soundtrack albums from the Amazon Prime Video series are available, including Bear McCreary’s soundtracks to episodes 1-8, and the overall Season 1 soundtrack album featuring Howard Shore’s main title theme and selections of McCreary’s music from the first season not found on the individual episode soundtracks. The 36-track Season 1 soundtrack released last August from Amazon has now been extended to 40 tracks, including Fiona Apple’s powerful performance of Bear’s end title song, “Where the Shadows Lie,” an instrumental version of the song, and two “Amazon exclusive” tracks, “Find the Light” and “Promised King”). Prior to the release of the episode albums, two singles from McCreary’s score, “Galadriel” and “Sauron,” were released on Amazon Music in July.

“Scoring this incredible season of television has been among the greatest honors of my life,” McCreary said in a Facebook post earlier today. “I am thrilled to collaborate with such a remarkable group of creatives and executives – all wonderful, caring, dedicated storytellers and people.” McCreary has also authored a four-part blog, “The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power – the Appendices” which can be read on his website beginning with Part 1 and is essential reading!

THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE RINGS OF POWER, or simply THE RINGS OF POWER, is a fantasy television series based on the novel The Lord of the Rings and its appendices by J. R. R. Tolkien. Developed by showrunners J. D. Payne and Patrick McKay for the streaming service Prime Video, the epic drama series is set thousands of years before Tolkien’s The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings in the Second Age of Middle-Earth, and follows an ensemble cast of characters, both familiar and new, as they confront the long-feared re-emergence of evil to Middle-Earth.

The eight-episode first season concluded today. A second season is expected to debut in 2024.

Mondo, in partnership with Amazon Studios, will present both Vinyl and 2 disc CD editions of THE RINGS OF POWER Season 1 album featuring Bear McCreary and the main theme by Howard Shore, as well as “Where The Shadows Lie” performed by Fiona Apple. See Mondo for details.

%d bloggers like this: