La-La Land’s Black Friday Horror Soundtracks

November 27, 2020

4th Volume X-FILES score collection, 30th Anniversary TREMORS soundtrack, Bear McCreary’s FREAKY soundtrack on CD Among La-La Land’s Holiday Releases

Announced today on Black Friday, La-La Land Records offers five mouth-watering new soundtracks, four archival releases and one new score making it’s debut on CD after a digital premiere two weeks ago. Among the genre-related releases are:

The fourth 4-CD volume of composer Mark Snow’s original scores from the award-winning, landmark television series, THE X FILES. With his signature style and original sound, Snow’s captivating work underscored and enriched all the drama, suspense, intrigue, and humanity that were hallmarks of this classic and beloved series created by Chris Carter. This 4-CD collection is a treasure-trove of musical highlights, including music from such notable episodes as “Apocrypha,” “Avatar,” “Triangle,” “Invocation,” “Nothing Important Happened Today,” and more. Also included is the cue “Smoking Telegram,” the previously unreleased finale music from the X-FILES feature film, FIGHT THE FUTURE, and music editor Jeff Charboneau’s music for “Scully’s Tattoo” from the “Never Again” episode. Produced by Mike Joffe and Mark Snow, and mastered by James Nelson, this attractive 4-CD set is limited to 2000 units, showcases more than five hours of music, and includes a 42-Page CD booklet that features exclusive, in-depth liner notes from writer Randall D. Larson. The sleek art design is by art designer Mark Banning.

A limited edition CD release of the original motion picture score to 1990’s beloved, big-screen, horror-sci-fi-comedy hit TREMORS, marks the film’s 30th Anniversary and is the first official debut of the score in any format. This eleventh title within the acclaimed Universal Pictures Film Music Classics Collection, this album includes the score by Ernest Troost as well as additional music by Robert Folk. The composers unleash a wildly playful and thrilling musical assault, weaving orchestra, blues, and synth into an irresistible soundscape of scares, chills, action, heart, and even Americana to propel this tale of a courageous band of dusty locals forced to defend themselves against an onslaught of deadly subterranean creatures. Produced and mastered by Mike Matessino, the work of Ernest Troost is presented on Disc 1, while Robert Folk’s music is showcased on Disc 2. The exclusive, in-depth liner notes are by writer Zach Tow, including new comments from the composers and a note from director Ron Underwood. The rollicking art design is by Dan Goldwasser. TREMORS is limited to 3000 units.

Bear McCreary’s original motion picture score to the all-new feature film hit FREAKY is offered in a limited edition CD release, wherein McCreary unleashes a wildly entertaining orchestral thrill ride—the perfect match for this audacious horror-comedy-thriller in which a brutal serial killer swaps bodies with a high school cheerleader. Produced by Joe Augustine and Bear McCreary and mastered by David Donnelly, this special CD release is limited to only 1000 units. Dan Goldwasser provides the sharp art design.

All five soundtracks will be available for sale on the label’s website on Tuesday, Dec 1.

%d bloggers like this: