Prowler with a Pitchfork

April 23, 2021

Richard Einhorn’s Score to 1981’s THE PROWLER Released on CD

Howlin’ Wolf Records proudly presents THE PROWLER by composer Richard Einhorn (SHOCK WAVES, DON’T GO IN THE HOUSE). At the height of the success of slasher films came THE PROWLER (1981), one of the many independently produced entries in the subgenre (it was rereleased in 1984 as PITCHFORK MASSACRE). The film was directed and co-produced by Joseph Zito, best known as a actor, and starred Vicky Dawson, Christopher Goutman, and Lawrence Tierney in a story about an unknown killerclad in World War II U.S. Army fatigues who stalks a small New Jersey town bent on reliving a 35 year-old double murder by focusing on a group of college kids holding an annual graduation dance. THE PROWLER is also known for its hard-edged violence with special effects by Tom Savini.

Composer Richard Einhorn’s early work in film scores was primarily electronic. With THE PROWLER, the composer transitioned to using live acoustic instruments. The score for THE PROWLER is full of lush orchestrations for strings, winds, and brass. While THE PROWLER does incorporate some electronic studio effects, they are used to enhance the impact of certain moments rather than be the focal point. Assembled and mastered for CD by Ian Zapczynski from 15 ips master tapes, THE PROWLER features the complete score in 35 tracks.

With liner notes by Ian Zapczynski based on research and an in-depth interview with Richard Einhorn, THE PROWLER showcases a 16-page full-color booklet including Nestor Puchetti’s original illustrations with art direction and designs by Luis Miguel Rojas. THE PROWLER is a limited pressing.

For more details, tracklist, and sample tracks, see Howlin’WolfRecords  

%d bloggers like this: