Swift, Bloody Justice

February 17, 2023

Waxwork Records has released vinyl, CD, and digital soundtrack sets from the 90s sci-fi adventure animated series ÆON FLUX.

Officially available for the very first time in any format, the soundtrack to the groundbreaking animated series is now available as a deluxe 6xLP box set, multi-disc CD set, and across all digital streaming services. Æon Flux is a mysterious and amoral secret agent from the country of Monica. Her motives or background are left unexplained, as are those of her antagonist/love, Trevor Goodchild. On her missions, she deals swift, bloody “justice” to all who oppose her. The second season episodes of this series were unique in that Aeon died at the end of every single episode.

In partnership with ÆON FLUX creator, artist, and director Peter Chung, composer Drew Neumann, and MTV, Waxwork Records assembled a comprehensive box set experience featuring the complete soundtrack music from all 21 ÆON FLUX episodes sourced from the composer’s original masters. The complete TV series music by composer Neumann has been remastered from the original masters

Originally airing from September 1991 through October 1995, ÆON FLUX is an avant-garde science fiction animated television series that inspired live action films, video games, and comic books. It premiered on MTV’s Liquid Television experimental animation show as a six-part serial of short films, followed in 1992 by five individual short episodes. In 1995, a season of ten half-hour episodes aired as a stand-alone series. In 2005 a live-action feature film was released, starring Charlize Theron as the title character, composed by Graeme Revell, but the movie was poorly received and the property was much better regarded in its original animated form.

6xLP set is pressed to 180 gram colored vinyl; the discs are each devised of a unique color variant correlating to the album’s art; the full box set contains original artwork by Peter Chung and comes with a 40-page book that includes exclusive liner notes by Peter Chung, an extensive essay by composer Drew Neumann, and more.

According to Waxworks’ website, the LP set is available now, and the 3-CD set is expected to ship on March 8, 2023. A 25-track digital download version is also available now on Amazon.

For more details see Waxwork. Watch a short segment of the show from Liquid Television, via YouTube:

%d bloggers like this: