September 12, 2018

Vicious Nature: Soundtracks for GRIZZLY and DEEP BLUE SEA 2 Announced

Grizzly_& DeepBlueSea covers

Dragon’s Domain Records, distributed through, presents the world premiere compact disc release of the soundtrack to GRIZZLY, featuring music composed by Robert O. Ragland (10 TO MIDNIGHT, Q, THE WINGED SERPENT, ASSASSINATION) for the 1976 horror thriller.

Directed by William Girdler and starring Christopher George, Andrew Prine, and Richard Jaeckel, GRIZZLY is a tale of realistic terror about the largest ground beast in the world, an eighteen foot, two thousand pound grizzly bear that goes on a massive killing spree in the serene setting of a national park. The score features orchestrations by Jack Hayes and was performed by the National Philharmonic Orchestra of London

grizzly movie posterComposer Robert O. Ragland’s lifelong interest in music began at the age of five. Throughout his school years, he performed and organized dance bands. After graduation from Northwestern University, Ragland served as an arranger for the Dorsey Brothers Orchestra. Later, he attained degrees in music from the American Conservatory of Music in Chicago and attended the Academy of Music in Vienna. Following the death of Tommy Dorsey, Ragland officially left the music business for his stint in advertising. But the urge to write film music overwhelmed him so he came to California.

Some of Robert O. Ragland’s diverse credits include RETURN TO MACON COUNTY, PONY EXPRESS RIDER, SHARK’S TREASURE, PROJECT: KILL, ABBY, MANSION OF DOOM, JAGUAR LIVES, Q, THE WINGED SERPENT, MESSENGER OF DEATH, 10 TO MIDNIGHT, THE FEAR, ORION’S KEY, TOP OF THE WORLD and MOTEL BLUE. In his later years, Ragland also conducted the music for many live awards shows including the Oscars and the Emmys. Ragland passed away in 2012 at the age of 80.

GRIZZLY is a limited edition release of 500 units. Suggested retail price is $16.95. GRIZZLY is expected to begin shipping the week of September 24th, 2018.

Also announced today by Dragon’s Domain is the premiere soundtrack release of DEEP BLUE SEA 2, featuring music composed by Sean Murray for the 2018 action film directed by Darin Scott.

DeepBlueSea2 posterNineteen years ago, the Aquatica Project used genetically altered sharks in hopes of developing a cutting-edge cure for Alzheimer’s. They came close to achieving their goal but an unforeseen tragedy derailed the experiment. In DEEP BLUE SEA 2, a pharmaceutical billionaire is determined to revive the research of the Aquatica Project, enlisting shark conservationist Misty Calhoun onto the team to help promote the project. Calhoun is shocked to discover that the company is using unpredictable and highly aggressive bull sharks as test subjects. Before long, the drug-enhanced sharks are growing smarter, quicker and much deadlier. When the sharks rebel, Calhoun and her team have to find a way to escape Aquatica before it’s too late.

Sean Murray made his professional debut as composer for the action film SCORPION. He grew up in Santa Barbara, California where he learned the craft of film composing by scoring dozens of student movies for the Brooks Institute Film School. He now has over 100 film, television and video game credits to his name, including CALL OF DUTY: Black Ops and World At War, BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER television series, ACCIDENT MAN),

DEEP BLUE SEA 2 is a limited edition release of 500 units. It is expected to begin shipping the week of September 17, 2018.

Both of these packages come with exclusive free 24/44.1khz/mp3/digital booklet bundle along with the CD. BSX offers 15% off if both album packages are purchased together.

For more details see buysoundtrax-grizzly and/or bysoundtrax-deepbluesea2



%d bloggers like this: