What’s the Buzz

June 9, 2022

Listen to Advance Score Track from Disney’s LIGHTYEAR by Michael Giacchino

Composed and produced by Oscar®-winning composer Michael Giacchino, the digital soundtrack to Disney and Pixar’s LIGHTYEAR is set for release on June 17, the same day the film opens in U.S. theaters. The film features the voices of Chris Evans as accomplished Space Ranger Buzz Lightyear, Uzo Aduba as his commander and best friend Alisha Hawthorne and Peter Sohn as Sox. Keke Palmer, Taika Waititi and Dale Soules lend their voices to the Junior Zap Patrol’s Izzy Hawthorne, Mo Morrison and Darby Steel, respectively, and James Brolin can be heard as the enigmatic Zurg. The animated film tells the story of Buzz Lightyear and his adventures to infinity and beyond. It is a spin-off of the TOY STORY film series, serving as an origin story for the fictional test pilot/astronaut character who the Buzz Lightyear toy/action figure featured in the main films was inspired by.

An advance listen of the track “Mission Perpetual” from the film was released on June 3rd. Commenting on the track, Giacchino said, “One of my favorite sequences is called ‘Mission Perpetual.’ It’s early on in the film when Buzz is trying to accomplish a mission and keeps failing. It was an exciting challenge for me because there were so many things the music needed to convey: Buzz’s frustration with himself and the sadness of being alone in his pursuit, but also his undying ambition and drive to achieve his goal. I went through a similar ‘mission’ myself to get this cue right, but once I did, it was incredibly rewarding.” The original score for LIGHTYEAR was recorded over 15 days with an 89-piece orchestra and a 39-member choir. The soundtrack features 31 tracks and will also be available in Dolby Atmos Music, a new technology placing the listener inside the song in a spatial way, revealing every detail of the music with unparalleled clarity and depth.

Listen to “Mission Perpetual,” below (via YouTube):

%d bloggers like this: