THE DARK TOWER scored by Tom Holkenborg – Soundtrack on Digital & CD

July 28, 2017

Album ArtworkSony Classical announces the release the soundtrack to THE DARK TOWER, based on the Stephen King book series, featuring the music of the prolific Dutch composer Tom Holkenborg ( MAD MAX FURY ROAD). The soundtrack will be released digitally on July 28 and on CD on August 4, according to Sony. The movie opens in theaters nationwide on August 4. About the film and soundtrack, Tom Holkenborg (aka Junkie XL) says: “DARK TOWER is an incredible mix of horror, fantasy and western. It inhabits a unique and singular world, human and personal, yet also other[worldly], and the score had to try and reflect this. It was a fascinating project to work on, and an honor trying to score the words and imagination of the great Stephen King.”

About the Film:
the-dark-tower-600x889 Edris & McGThere are other worlds than these.  Stephen King’s The Dark Tower, the ambitious and expansive story from one of the world’s most celebrated authors, makes its launch to the big screen.  The last Gunslinger, Roland Deschain (Idris Elba), has been locked in an eternal battle with Walter O’Dim, also known as the Man in Black (Matthew McConaughey), determined to prevent him from toppling the Dark Tower, which holds the universe together. The fate of the worlds is at stake – good and evil will collide in the ultimate battle as only Roland can defend the Tower from the Man in Black.  Directed by Nikolaj Arcel, the screenplay is by Akiva Goldsman & Jeff Pinkner and Anders Thomas Jensen & Nikolaj Arcel, based on the novels by Stephen King.  The film is produced by Akiva Goldsman, Ron Howard, and Erica Huggins.

Tom Holkenborg twitter imageAbout the Composer:
Tom Holkenborg is a Grammy-nominated and multi-platinum producer, musician, and composer whose versatility puts him on the cutting edge of contemporary music, as well as in the vanguard of exciting new film composers. He draws on his extensive knowledge of classical forms and structures while keeping one finger planted firmly on the pulse of popular music. The foundation for Holkenborg’s career started in his native Holland where he created multiple film scores, and undertook mentorships with celebrated composers Harry GregsonWilliams (on DOMINO and KINGDOM OF HEAVEN) and Klaus Badelt (on CATWOMAN). But things really started to fall into place when Holkenborg started collaborating with Oscar-winning composer Hans Zimmer. Their partnership lasted several years, and most recently included 2016’s blockbuster BATMAN V SUPERMAN: DAWN OF JUSTICE, which marked the seventh scoring collaboration between Holkenborg and Zimmer. Holkenborg worked with Zimmer on THE AMAZING SPIDER MAN 2MAN OF STEELDARK KNIGHT RISESMADAGASCAR 3MEGAMIND, and INCEPTION.

Album Track List:  

  1. The Dark Tower
  2. The Face of My Father
  3. I Kill With My Heart
  4. Skin People
  5. Getting a Toothbrush
  6. Dutch Hill
  7. Guardian
  8. Arrival in Mid-World
  9. His Shine Is Pure
  10. The Map
  11. Thinny
  12. Something Got Out
  13. We Don’t Have Chicken
  14. Manny Village
  15. See Across Worlds
  16. There’s Always Another Battle
  17. A Chicken, a Goat and One Bullet
  18. Keystone Earth
  19. Portal Activity
  20. Smiley Face
  21. The Creed
  22. Death Always Wins
  23. Dixie Pig
  24. Tall, Dark and Handsome
  25. Full Package as Advertised
  26. It Will Fall
  27. Collateral Damage
  28. Hot Dogs
  29. Roland of Eld (Main Titles)

– via Sony Classical For email updates and information please visit   

%d bloggers like this: