Music for the Suburban Multiverse

February 23, 2022

Soundtrack to EVERYTHING EVERYWHERE ALL AT ONCE From Experimental Band Son Lux to Release on April 8

A24 announces their soundtrack to the eclectic film score by iconoclastic, experimental trio Son Lux (Rafiq Bhatia, Ian Chang, Ryan Lott), for Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert’s highly-anticipated film EVERYTHING EVERYWHERE ALL AT ONCE, is scheduled for release on April 8.

The 49-track album demonstrates the band’s limitless capability, featuring a striking collaboration with featuring contributing collaborators Mitski & David Byrne in duet, Randy Newman, Moses Sumney, and André Benjamin on flutes.

Of the album, Son Lux states, “Even though we knew from the moment Daniels asked us to score this film that it would push us in new and unexpected directions, we couldn’t have predicted how much we’d learn from the project. What emerged was our most ambitious undertaking to date, over two years in the making, resulting in two hours of new music. It was an opportunity for us to play, to infuse humor into our work, and to experiment from and beyond our various musical backgrounds.”

EVERYTHING EVERYWHERE ALL AT ONCE is a hilarious and big-hearted sci-fi action-adventure about an aging Chinese immigrant who is swept up in an insane adventure, where she alone can save the world by exploring other universes connecting with the lives she could have led. The exhilarating, multi-verse fever dream stars Michelle Yeoh, Stephanie Hsu, Ke Huy Quan, Jenny Slate, Harry Shum Jr., James Hong and Jamie Lee Curtis, and premieres at SXSW Film Festival on March 11, releasing theatrically nationwide March 25.

See my previous report about the movie, with the film’s trailer, here.

%d bloggers like this: